News:

This forum is run by RPM and donations from members.

It is the donations of the members that help offset the operating cost of the forum. The secondary benefit of being a contributing member is the ability to save big during RPM Holiday sales. For more information please check out this link: Membership has its privileges 

Thank you for your support of the all mighty FJ.

Main Menu

squeeking noise

Started by FJ lover, September 17, 2014, 12:31:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FJ lover

Hello, i am a newbie here and have a question about a squeaking noise.
when I pull my clutchlever it dis sapears.
Does somebody know what I need to do??

FJ1100mjk

Quote from: FJ lover on September 17, 2014, 12:31:14 PM
Does somebody know what I need to do??

For starters, it would be great if you provide more information on the squeak itself, other than "it disappears when I pull the clutch lever in".

1. Where does it seem to emanate from, front, back, engine, wheel(s), body, chassis...?

2. Is it continuous, or does it come and go?

3. Does it get louder and softer during any particular operation of the motorcycle, such as on and off the brakes, turning, on and off the gas?

4. What is the present condition of your motorcycle, how many miles are on it?

There's a need for more detail from you, to possibly help.

Platinum Zircon-encrusted Gold Member

Iron Balls #00002175
www.ironballs.com

FJ lover

Sorry, that I didn't explain it enough.
The noise is there when I'm driving between 5 and 25 mph,the engine runs normal and the noise is coming from behind the clutchcover. When I pull the clutchlever at this speed the noise is gone.
My bike has driven 65.000 miles now (FJ 1200 3XW from 1994)
The noise sounds like a bearing which is wornout, so I think that I have to do some overhauling of the clutch but I want to know
if somebody had experieneced this problem also and could give some advice.