News:

Welcome to FJowners.com

It is the members who make this best place for FJ related content on the internet.

Main Menu

New Tires

Started by aviationfred, April 05, 2017, 10:25:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aviationfred

I will be needing to install a new set of tires for my trip out to the West Coast Rally in June. These tires have been out for a few years and I have not heard of any FJ owners trying them. Shinko 016 Verge 2X.

I have been running Continental Conti-Motions for a few years now. At $200.00 a set, I am curious to see how they measure up to the Conti's. The Conti's are a single compound tire and the Shinko's are a dual compound.

120/70/17 and 180/55/17

Fred
I'm not the fastest FJ rider, I am 'half-fast', the fastest slow guy....

Current
2008 VFR800 RC46 Vtec
1996 VFR750 RC36/2
1990 FJ1300 (1297cc) Casper
1990 VFR750 RC36/1 Minnie
1989 FJ1200 Lazarus, the Streetfighter Project
1985 VF500F RC31 Interceptor

andyoutandabout

Fred, George Bowers rode like a demon on a set of Shikos, so they must be fairly decent.
I'm stuck on Michelin PS4 that last about 40% longer than PS3 and grip gloriously.
Just spent 350 bucks at motorcyclesuperstore on a set, which is pricey compared to the Contis, but cheap in the peace of mind department.
Andy
life without a bike is just life

Pat Conlon

I wonder what ever happened to George, is he still riding?
1) Free Owners Manual download: https://tinyurl.com/fmsz7hk9
2) Don't store your FJ with E10 fuel https://tinyurl.com/3cjrfct5
3) Replace your old stock rubber brake lines.
4) Important items for the '84-87 FJ's:
Safety wire: https://tinyurl.com/99zp8ufh
Fuel line: https://tinyurl.com/bdff9bf3

CutterBill

Fred,
I just bought those same tires... Shinko 016.  $208 for the set, delivered, thru Amazon. But I won't have a chance to install them until next weekend, so I can't tell you anything about them.