News:

This forum is run by RPM and donations from members.

It is the donations of the members that help offset the operating cost of the forum. The secondary benefit of being a contributing member is the ability to save big during RPM Holiday sales. For more information please check out this link: Membership has its privileges 

Thank you for your support of the all mighty FJ.

Main Menu

Missing Parts

Started by GreMonte, February 05, 2013, 09:46:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GreMonte

I'm very new to these bikes and had one fall in my lap recently.  I was told the chain broke.  The sprocket cover is missing but I have found a couple chunks of it.  I started the bike today for the first time.  I noticed the oil coming out.  I took some pictures and I hope you guys can tell me what is missing so I can pick one up.  These pictures are taken of the left side by the sprocket.
The bike is an 86 FJ1200

This is where the oil came from.  The round part facing you.  what goes here?

Here is another shot back a bit.  What else do you see that is missing?  I know the cover.  Anything else you can see would help as well.

SlowOldGuy

You appear to be missing the drive chain.  :-)

Also, your clutch actuation rod is gone.  That's the source of your oil leak.

DavidR.

GreMonte

The chain HAHA :drinks:

thanks for the tip on the clutch rod, I google away.

movenon

Life isn't about having the best, but about making the best of what you have...

1990 FJ 1200

GreMonte

Quote from: movenon on February 06, 2013, 12:22:15 AM
http://www.cheapcycleparts.com/model_years/5143-yamaha-1986-big-wheel-fj1200s/assemblies/156500-clutch ?

Thanks for the link, it backs up what I found when I looked.  It shows the rod as discontinued, does anyone have one laying around they don't need?

FJmonkey

Quote from: GreMonte on February 06, 2013, 12:02:59 PM